What Is RSS?

February 1, 2006 at 4:06 pm | Posted in RSS | 2 Comments

I had to find out what RSS meant and the best way to get Information Is the “WWW” I did a search on “what Is RSS” In Google and It came up with the following link which Personally I thought was a really good and an easy to read description.
Once I had established what RSS (really simple syndication) was and that you needed to find an aggregator that would supply these RSS feeds this nicely led me onto my next step, “Finding my aggregator”

I had actually had a tip off about a good aggregator called “Bloglines” there are others you can use which are also free and the is no Installing software either.

I now needed to know eactly how to use this site, I must admit, It is relatively easy to use but I searched on google and found a chap with a great blog called “betterdays”
Preetam has definately helped me understand and there Is an easy step by step guide on how to get started.

And Finally

This has been a real challenge for me, however I have really enjoyed learning about RSS and Bloglines with the help from other bloggers, I hope you find this site useful and please feel free to comment.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Excellent! I didn’t know what RSS is short for ;) So what is an aggregator then?

  2. There are Two main types of aggregators: web-based aggregators and desktop/software aggregators. Web-based aggregators allow individuals to subscribe to feeds online and read feeds in a web browser. Desktop aggregators are software programs installed locally that updates when feeds are updated. The aggregator shows new information and allow for users to read feeds. ie, like bloglines is an aggregator.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

